Home  |  About SPBS  |  Press Release  |  Our Impact  |  Our Community  |  Our Literature  |  E-Store  |  Contact Us
SPBS Introduces 2021 Cohort of Scholars
Sunday, November 21, 2021
Press Release

    From Principals Award recognizing Primary School Students to College Scholarships


    The newest winners of the Sandy Point Benevolent Society’s scholarships were presented to viewers at its virtual fundraiser event on Saturday 6th November.  The SPBS as it is otherwise known, introduced the students who were recently named winners of its main scholarship programs.

    Winners of the Principal’s Awards are drawn from the feeder schools for the Charles E Mills Secondary School. All three were introduced by Mrs Elsa Revan during Saturday night’s virtual event.  Based on their performance, the top three students from the Newton Ground, St Paul’s and Sandy Point Primary schools are selected for the Principal’s Awards upon entering the Charles E Mills Secondary School.  This year the winners were: Jeniqua Williams of the Sandy Point Primary School, Takeya Carty of the St. Paul’s Primary School and Taveca Williams of the Newton Ground Primary School.  Desiree Gumbs,  a member of the St Kitts Chapter of the SPBS coordinates the Awards with the objective to strengthen the resources available to the recipients of the Principal Awards.

    Originally, the Award began with a single recipient from the Sandy Point Primary school but was expanded in 2011 to include the students from Newton Ground and St Paul’s Primary schools who all receive monetary awards and other forms of assistance during their tenure in high school.  Upon graduating high school, the scholarship automatically extends to the Clarence Fitzroy Bryant College, where the scholars become Mentors to the student awardees in high school.

    Also announced on Saturday night were the 2021 College Scholarship Winners.  Julanie Garroden and Jemina Rouse were both recipients of the Ridley Guishard Memorial Scholarship.  Mr Garroden is an aspiring doctor undertaking studies in Cuba while Ms Rouse attends the University of the Virgin Islands as a Psychologist major.  The winner of the Sandy Point Benevolent Society’s Verchilds High Scholarship is Shequan Bolus – an aspiring Pharmacist, who is currently attending the Barbados Community College.  The Sir Hugh and Lady Claudette Rawlins Scholarship winner is Shanece Esdaille aspiring Materials Scientist at the Florida International University.  Ms Kyea Phipps, who attends the University of Guyana is the holder of an SPBS Scholarship.  She is an aspiring Veterinarian.  The SPBS Monroe College Scholars are Ashante Phipps of Saddlers, Shanda Akers of Cayon and Taniqua Cannonier of Basseterre.

    The Sandy Point Benevolent Society offers its best wishes to the 2021 scholarship winners and encourages them to be diligent in their studies.  A nonprofit organization registered in New York with local chapters in St. Kitts and Anguilla, the organization is funded by the generosity of well-wishers in St. Kitts & Nevis and the diaspora and annual fund-raising activities.  The Sandy Point Benevolent Society appreciates the support of the general public and reminds potential donors that they can still donate to its work via its online platform www.spbsinc.org